Passionately Protecting Your Best Interest

Face Shoplifting Charges in Gwinnet County?

Shoplifting is a serious theft crime in Georgia because it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony offense. A conviction carries harsh criminal penalties and even civil consequences. If you or a loved one has recently been arrested for shoplifting, it is imperative to hire a skilled criminal defense lawyer to defend you in court. At Crawford and Boyle, LLC, we have more than five decades of collective experience protecting the rights, freedom, and future of all our clients facing serious criminal charges in Gwinnett, Clarke, and Walton Counties. Our legal team can investigate your case, determine your available legal options, and help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case.

Crawford and Boyle, LLC Can Help You

  • More Than 50 Years' Combined Experience on Your Side
  • We're an Award-Winning Defense Team of Former Prosecutors
  • A Free Consultation to Discuss Your Case & Options

Worried about a shoplifting conviction on your record?  
Schedule a free consultation by calling (678) 726-5400 today.

Georgia Shoplifting Laws & Penalties

In Georgia, shoplifting is defined as concealing merchandise—whether by hiding the item in a bag, under clothing, or by other means—with the intent to steal it. In other words, you can be charged with shoplifting simply by attempting to hide the merchandise—even if you do not exit the store. Additionally, you can be charged with shoplifting for switching the packaging or price tags of one item with another in order to pay a lower price for the more costly merchandise. Therefore, any attempt to avoid paying the store owner the full retail price is considered shoplifting.

If an item is worth $500 or less, then the shoplifting offense is a misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to 12 months and/or a maximum fine of $1,000. If an item is worth more than $500, then the offense is a felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 10 years.

Individuals facing shoplifting charges can also be held liable for damages if a store owner files a civil lawsuit. In Georgia, the store owner must send the defendant a written demand, giving them up to 30 days to pay for the damages. If the defendant fails to pay after the deadline passes, the store owner can file a civil action in court.

Ready to Defend You Immediately! You Can Call Us 24/7

Having our Gwinnett County shoplifting defense attorneys on your side can make a huge difference in your case. We provide our clients with effective and personalized defense strategies to help them get their lives back on track.

Speak with our legal team by calling 678-726-5400 today!

  • Mr. Fitz went over and beyond for me.

    Popo C.
  • No better outcome would have been achieved working with any other firm.

    Jasir M.
  • ""I AM SO THANKFUL!!!""
    Literally Saved my life!!!
  • AV Rated
  • DDLA
  • NTL Top 100
  • NTL 40 Under 40
  • AVVO 10.0
  • AVVO 10.0
  • NCDD

Crawford and Boyle, LLC

Read Our Recent Results A Proven Track Record
Why Crawford and Boyle, LLC?
  • Unrivaled Trial Experience
  • Over 50 Combined Years of Legal Experience
  • Genuine & Honest Legal Guidance
  • Results Driven Representation
  • Use of Technology to Bring You More Convenience
  • Available for Calls 24/7
Free Consultation For Criminal Matters We're Ready To Listen

Complete our form below or call us at (678) 726-5400.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.