Gwinnett County DUI Lawyers
Charged with a DUI in Gwinnett County?
Have you or a loved one been arrested for DUI? Crawford and Boyle, LLC, represents clients facing all types of DUI-related charges in Gwinnett, Walton and Clarke County. Our DUI defense attorneys in Gwinnett County understand this can be a stressful situation and provide client-focused, personalized, attention to every case.
Georgia Implied Consent Law
Under Georgia law, if you are lawfully arrested for driving under the influence while on Georgia roads, you have already consented to, and are therefore required to, submit to chemical testing. These tests include:
When a police officer has lawfully arrested you for DUI they are required to advise you of these tests by reading or reciting the "implied consent notice." If you then refuse to submit to testing you could be subject to further penalties including a mandatory license suspension.
The state of Georgia does not allow drivers to consult an attorney before making a decision about these tests. It is imperative that you contact Crawford and Boyle, LLC as soon as possible to begin building your DUI defense.
Georgia DUI Penalties
Our Gwinnett County criminal defense lawyers are former prosecutors with more than 50 combined years of experience working DUI cases. We use this experience to provide quality defense for clients facing these kinds of charges, including first DUI offenses, subsequent offenses, felony DUI, underage DUI, and DUI drugs. We also handle severe DUI-related matters, such as vehicular homicide and serious injury by vehicle.
The penalties for a DUI conviction may include:
- Jail time
- Supervised probation
- Large fines
- Driver’s license suspension
- Ignition interlock device
- Alcohol evaluation and treatment
- Community service
DUI in Georgia carries mandatory sentencing, meaning the judge must impose a specific punishment for any conviction. In addition, the indirect costs of a DUI can impact your life for years. You may find that your insurance premiums increase or that you are unable to purchase car insurance at all.
Employment of any type can be difficult to find and maintain with a DUI on your record, a suspended license, or both. Our DUI defense lawyers in Gwinnett County provide personal service to every client.
Underage DUI in Gwinnett County
Similar to adult DUI, the state of Georgia takes underage DUI very seriously. However, unlike adults where the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08%, drivers under the age of 21 cannot exceed a BAC of .02%.
The penalties for underage DUI vary but in general they can include:
- Fines up to $1000
- Up to 12 months of Jail time
- Minimum 40 hours of community service
- Suspended license
- Mandatory rehabilitation courses
If your child is facing underage DUI charges it is important to have an attorney that can help navigate the complex nature of your case. At Crawford and Boyle, LLC, our attorneys understand that every situation is unique and are ready to fight for not only your child's rights, but also their future.
DUI Expungement in Georgia
A criminal history can make getting and keeping jobs challenging. Expungement can help you get your life back on track. In Georgia, expungement may be possible if:
- The accused can show that the records are inaccurate or incomplete
- The charges were dismissed and there have been no other convictions in the past five years
- The accused was a juvenile
After expungement, the records cannot be accessed for general civil use. The laws are complicated, so it is important to have a skilled attorney to guide you through the process.
Simple Battery ACQUITTED
Possession of Child Pornography OVERTURNED
Drug Trafficking DISMISSED
DUI, Possession, etc. REDUCED
Marijuana Possession DISMISSED
Simple Battery DISMISSED
Drug Possession SEIZURE OVERTURNED
Illegal Hunting DISMISSED
Identity Theft DISMISSED
Violation of Move-Over Law DISMISSED